top of page
  • Writer's picturerbn_tours

Book Tour: A Rose Should Be Red: Secrets by Akaku

Updated: Apr 27, 2022

Hello book friends!


Raven's Bookish Network proundly presents A Rose Should Be Red: Secrets by Akaku, the first book in the A Rose Should Be Red series! A slow-burn romance veiled in mystery, secrets and shades of red. The book was released on May 23rd, 2020.


About the book:

A bittersweet kiss, followed by a sorrowful confession, "Everything I did was meant to keep you safe…."


Almost overnight, Jenny Brown's everyday life is turned upside down. Her father dies suddenly. Her mother uproots them both and brings them to London to live in the hopes of getting her life back to normal. Yet, despite her present chaos, Jenny is still haunted by her dark past and weighed down by the suffering throughout her life. A broken girl, it's hard for her to let anyone new into her life or get close to anyone.

But then Jenny's tough persona is tested when she meets Tyler Williams. A kind and handsome gentleman with deep blue eyes that bring back emotions she thought were long gone. Her fearful and cautious nature around men is challenged as he helps Jenny and her mum settle into their new place.

Meanwhile, strange things keep happening. A mysterious boy she can't remember. A missing best friend. And worst of all, someone is watching her.

By that time Jenny realises that she is caught in the middle of a dangerous game.


And now, it might be too late to escape it. A story filled with drama, secrets and love.



 

Excerpt

"Nothing like this should have happened!"

He roughly ran his hand through his hair and sighed, "Nothing should've happened!"

"Yeah... But it did."

Silence fell between us again.

I wanted to tell him that he should get some more rest, but he didn't look like he would want to leave me. He wanted to stay next to me, so he could watch over me. He wanted to make sure that I was

safe.

I moved my legs, so he could put his head on the mattress. The bed wasn't big enough for the both of us, but I tried my best to give him some space.

He wanted to say something, but instead, he swallowed his words.


Excerpt

"I'm an inherently greedy person; I really am..."

"Why would you say something like this?"

I closed my eyes and waited for these crazy feelings - to stop.

"I won't be able to rest until I've everything…."

"That's indeed greedy!"

I chuckled, which made him sigh.

"Your voice… Your hair, your eyes and lips, and your heart. All of you."


Excerpt

"My gaze jerked to the phone, which lay on the other side of my bed. I slowly approached it and managed to reach it.

"Stupid girl!"

I managed to press call, but the man kicked the phone away. Then, he pushed me to the ground and pulled something out of his jacket.

"You are too noisy."

He pressed a cloth against my mouth.

It didn't take much time before my vision went dark.

I heard Tyler yell something, but my hearing was subdued."


Mini Review

When I read the synopsis, I knew that this would be an entertaining and thrilling read. The writing style is good. The mysterious, intense, and emotional plot kept me flipping through the pages that I did not know I had read way past my bedtime. Honestly, there was never a dull moment reading this one since the details are evenly laid out throughout the book.

This is one heck of a roller coaster journey. It will make you smile, cry, and constantly wonder what will happen next. I cannot wait to read the following books of the trilogy. I highly recommend this, especially if you are for some thriller romance read


Excerpt

He pointed at my eyes and kissed the corner of it.

"Here's full of tears," then gently touched my cheek. "And I'm the reason…."

His gaze lowered; he looked distressed.

"I'm sorry. It won't happen again."

He knew the aggressive kiss wasn't a solution to anything, so he tried to calm me by holding me close.

"Would you give me a chance to explain, please?"


Author Q&A with author Akaku & @bookish.caterpillar


Q: How long have you been writing? A: Ever since I found fanfiction, I started writing. I guess it's been 11 years. Q: Are there any books or authors that inspired you to become a writer? A: Kerstin Gier is my favourite author, and her books inspired me to write my own. Q: What inspired the idea for your trilogy "A rose should be red"? A: I wrote a fanfiction called 'Between love and hate'. It got popular in Germany, but I had another vision for Tyler, so I decided to change many parts and make that story into a Trilogy. Q: What do you like to do when you are not writing? A: I don't have hobbies. I'm either working, studying, or writing.

Q: What advice would you give to a writer working on their first book? A: Never be afraid of what other people might think of your work. You start a book because you love to write and have a passion for what you do, so write and enjoy the ride.


 

About the Author:

Akaku first recognised her passion for writing at age eleven when she wrote her first fan-fiction. She has since moved on to writing murder mystery romance as well as comedy romance novels. Like herself, Jeffrey's character is a good listener who always keeps a positive mindset. She wants to put a smile on readers faces with every one of her books.

When she's not writing, Akaku works full time and is also working on her master degree in technical management.


Follow the Author: Website Goodreads Instagram Facebook

Purchase the Book: Amazon

Add the book on: Goodreads

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page