top of page
  • Writer's picturerbn_tours

Book Tour: A Rose Should Be Red: Confessions by Akaku

Hello book lovers!


Raven's Bookish Network proudly presents A Rose Should Be Red: Confessions by Akaku. In this thrilling continuation of the series, Jenny's nightmare is far from over! The book was released on April 1st, 2021.


About the book:

Not all are who they seem, and not everyone can survive this deadly mystery... All Jenny Brown wants is a normal and easy life. And all Tyler wants is Jenny. If only she could forget her past and show him how she really feels... If only things were that easy. You see, someone else wants Jenny. Someone with evil on his mind. Someone who played a significant rule in the past she’s trying to forget. This sinister guy has returned from the dead to haunt her, and nothing will stop him from getting Jenny.

First, it’s the creepy messages, then the threats, next he’s terrorising her friends, and now he’s hurting those closest to her.

And his deadly cat and mouse nightmare is just beginning.


 

Excerpt

“Look.’’

Tyler placed his hands softly on my cheeks and made me look at him. While doing this, he wiped away the tears with his thumb.

“Everything is going to be fine. It is okay to let everything out. It is okay to be sad and done with the world, but remember you are alive. You are here, and only you can change your future.’’

His words sounded right, yet it was too far away from me to think about a better life. I couldn’t close this chapter of my life when I knew the past was still hunting me… How could I live with this burden when it was clear that their deaths were connected to me!


Excerpt

“I am honoured that a fine lady like you is shy around me. And I’m so glad you are here. I still can’t believe it… everything that happened was shocking and – I am so glad you’re here with me.’’

Now, I felt warm and shy at the same time. I still couldn’t believe that I told him why I was stuttering around him. He really could read me like a book now. But somehow… it didn’t bother me as much as it did before. At least he wouldn’t misunderstand – he wouldn’t think that I disliked him.

As he placed a soft kiss on my forehead, I closed my eyes; I felt sleepy. A dense fog was building as I slowly drifted away. Even though he was talking again, I wasn’t really listening…

“I need to hear the sound of your heart. Its beat is my melody… It keeps me alive.’’


Excerpt

“I don't know,’’ I mumbled softly, very softly indeed.

“What did you say?’’ Linette heard me very well, but she just wanted to see what my answer would be now.

“Yes, everything will be okay,’’ I said, this time loud and clear and then smiled at her to add in more honesty, but she didn’t believe me.

“Jenny… Are you really all right?’’

I nodded at this question.

“I worry about you.’’

“Please, don't worry about me. I'm fine. It's gonna be okay.’’ Lie. I was lying to her. Nothing was fine. But it didn’t matter now, as long she was okay.

“Still, I do worry,’’ she stated, and I closed my eyes.

Again, a long time passed until I turned over to look at her. I was breathing heavily as she opened her eyes to look at me.


Excerpt

However, when I heard noises behind my glass window, I jumped up. Since only Charlotte or Tyler ever burst in from that side, I thought nothing of it as I marched over there, and if it was the latter, of course, then I wanted to let him in and talk to him. Because I felt it was vital to talk to him about the new information I had discovered, and maybe he would be able to do something with it.

I unlocked my door and then stopped, petrified. A person was standing right in front of me. But it wasn't Tyler, and it wasn’t Charlotte.


Listen to the inspired playlist HERE!

Mini Review

The second book in the trilogy is as gripping as the first book, if not even more. The plot is so good and engaging that it swallows you whole until you get immersed in the story. The pacing and the build-up suspense are laid evenly, which keeps it thrilling throughout.

This is a great YA murder mystery with a touch of romance read. I could not put this book down, and I got so sad afterward when I realized I had finished the book. The plot twists are amazing and well thought of. The ending left me with so many questions that I want to go and jump into the last book right now.


Author Q&A with author Akaku & @bookish.caterpillar


Q: How many books have you written and which is your favourite? A: I’ve written 4 books and 8 fan fiction; my favourite is A rose should be red & Between love and hate. Q: What part of the book did you have the hardest time writing? A: Actually, there was no hard part, I just had to fight my writer’s block, and then everything went smoothly. Q: Do you read your book reviews? How do you deal with bad or good ones? A: When I published my first book, I did read them. Of course, the negative reviews hurt a bit, but the positive ones make everything up! But currently, I only read reviews when people mark me on posts or dm me. Q: Do you believe in writer’s block? A: Yes, I had a 6-month-long writer’s block. So I believe in it. Q: Would you share something about yourself that your readers don’t know? A: My life is paved with many downs, and I still am not up; I just try to cover up my suffering by sharing positivity. It helps me to heal too…


 


About the Author:

Akaku first recognised her passion for writing at age eleven when she wrote her first fan-fiction. She has since moved on to writing murder mystery romance as well as comedy romance novels. Like herself, Jeffrey's character is a good listener who always keeps a positive mindset. She wants to put a smile on readers faces with every one of her books.

When she's not writing, Akaku works full time and is also working on her master degree in technical management.


Follow the Author: Website Goodreads Instagram Facebook

Purchase the Book: Amazon

Add the book on: Goodreads

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page