top of page
  • Writer's picturerbn_tours

Book Tour: ASHES OF FLAME by Lela Grayce

Updated: May 28, 2021

Hello bookdragons!


Raven's Bookish Network proudly presents Ashes of Flame, the thrilling continuation of The Dragon Mafia Chronicles! The book will be published on April 21st, 2021.


About the book:

Abducted by Lazateth, Nik awakes to find herself in a concrete cell with no memories. Thankfully, she’s not alone. Royce, a doctor with kind eyes and a caring demeanor, was ripped from his own life and forced to care for her. Working together, the two escape the torturous compound.

Memories violently returning, the bond she shares with Kreed snaps back into place stronger and deeper than before. Terrified by their connection, Nik knows without a shadow of a doubt he is coming for her.

Her only hope of reclaiming her fire is to travel to Ska’Moira, the world of dragons, and learn more about that long hidden part of herself. What she finds there will challenge everything she thought she knew.

As darkness closes in from all sides, can Nik reclaim her flame and wield it to defeat Lazateth? Or will she be the tool he uses to ascend to unimaginable power?



 

Take a look at the magical photos our hosts provided for the Instagram Book Tour!

 

Day 1

Excerpt:

“What do I do?” I asked, choking back a sob.

“You need to get your power back,” Ruvaen said gently.

"He took it from me, how do I get it back?” I missed the heat, that deep well of flames that licked my insides and rose at my call. It was gone.

“It’s not gone, just extinguished. It needs to be relite.”

“How does she do that?” Royce asked before I could.

“She needs to find it.” Ruvaen was starting to get on my nerves. Getting answers out of him was like herding cats.

“Okay,” I drawled trying to convey my impatience while not being rude. Harder than it sounds, trust me.

“The source will ignite the fire inside of you again. It’s not here, though,” he continued looking increasingly wary.

“Like on Earth?” I clarified and my stomach dropped when he nodded.

To reignite the fire inside of me I had to go to the world of dragons. @eirini_writes


Day 2



Quote:

"Stories are like air, we can't do without them."




Day 3

Excerpt:

"It'll be dark soon. Let's head back," Royce said offering me a lifeline and I grabbed it with both hands.

Royce let the way back, this time holding my hand and offering to comfort me though I realized it was pointless to feel the way I did. This place was a ruin. These people were long gone. The evidence o their lives were in these ruins. I didn't know these people and while I couldn't say I didn't agree with this part of their history, they were still people. I didn't know their culture so I couldn't judge their actions when I lacked the knowledge.

Like it or not, I was connected to these people. I was here and I needed to learn all that I could. My life depended on it. @thesunandalltheotherstars


Day 4

Excerpt:

We went down the line of women who painted our bodies adding in vibrant shades of yellow, orange, and red. By the time we were done I swear I looked exactly like a lava flow.

The last woman threw black powder on us that I assumed would help dry the paint but it also added some sparkle.

Zallas was gorgeous and seemed to have settled more into her skin. She wore the colors with pride and held herself differently. I had no idea what any of this meant but if I had to guess the paint highlighted scars. This celebration pointed out our flaws but instead of hiding them in shame we stood out and celebrated what had once broken us but hadn’t defeated us.

The last woman glued dragon scales on our breasts and lady bits down south in different swirling patterns.

Stepping out of the tent took an act of bravery I didna know I possessed but once outside I saw all the other women painted bodies and I was able to relax. This is the most naked I’ve ever been in public and it was the most freeing feeling I’d ever experienced.

Gathered outside of the tent were women decorated with their flaws. Showing them off in the most beautiful way, a mural of sorts. I was humbled that I was accepted as part of these warrior women.

My scars were small but spoke of a battle fought with an unseen enemy.

I was a warrior. I was a survivor.

For the first time since I hit remission, I felt powerful for it. @anabellasbooks


Day 5

Excerpt:

"The stone statue of the male dragon turned human stared down at me with red eyes though I couldn’t see their color anymore. I felt like I was being stripped, judged, and was found lacking which made me want to punch the statue in its stone face. However, I couldn’t deny that there was something that connected us. Be it genetics or something else, this world was part of who I was. It didn’t define me because I defined myself but it felt nice to know and experience what so many other Mutts would never get to." @ravens_books

Day 6

Moodboard by @lunacelestial_reads


Day 7 & 8



Day 9

Moodboard by @bookish_panda18

Day 10

Q&A with Author Lela Grayce & @pagesandquotes__



Q: How did you decide to write about dragons? Which are your other favourite mythical creatures?

A: I love dragons so, naturally, I wanted to write about them but instead of them being the good misunderstood ones I made, the majority of them, the bad guys. My other fav mythological creatures would be Kelpies which I’ve also written about.

Q: Who is your favourite character in the book?

A: Nik!

Q: How many times did you cancel your drafts before coming up with the perfect ending for book 2?

A: I lightly outline my books so I knew where it was heading just not the details of it.

Q: When did you decide the title of the first book - did it click all of a sudden or did you come up with it after you finished the book?

A: I always title my books before I write them. Ashes of Blood was a no-brainer given the MC unique ability. The rest have a special meaning too.

Q: Which character from your books you would like to date?

A: Romantically? Kreed. To go on a fun date as friends then Brutus.

Q: Where did you get the inspiration to write your book?

A: It all started out as an idea my co-author and I came up with but the world really developed for me so we scratch the idea for it being our co-write and went with vampire pirates instead. But Nik remained with me a hilarious, awkward, eventual badass.

Q: Is there any book series you would love to reread again and you would recommend your readers?

A: The beginners guide to necromancy by Hailey Edwards! Talk about a roller coaster!

Q: Which is your favourite scene from Ashes of flame?

A: Probably the part where Nik is kidnapped and her captors forget to put a gag in her mouth which is a green light for her to talk about anything and everything. Haha. It’s hilarious.


About the author:

Lela Grayce lives in rural Wyoming in a small college town. She works for a non-profit organization and loves what she does for the company. She is married to her best friend and hero. By day she is a working mom and wife but by night she is lost in dreams, moonlight, and delusions that she is, in fact, Batman.


Follow the Author:

Join the Fan Group

Purchase the book on Amazon



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page