top of page
  • Writer's picturerbn_tours

Book Tour: STRAY WITCH by Eva Alton

Updated: Nov 18, 2020

Hello bookdragons!


Raven's Bookish Network proudly presents Stray Witch by Eva Alton, a fantasy novel about a clueless witch and a quirky vampire, perfect for fans of women's fiction and slow burn romances! Book released on May 26th, 2020 & was awarded the Silver Stake Literary Award at the Vampire Arts Festival on Halloween, 2020.


About the book:

Magic, love and a secret vampire nest beneath a graveyard.

Alba is about to lose everything during an awful divorce... until she meets The Vampires of Emberbury, who have a very interesting proposition for her. She will get to know Clarence, a vampire gentleman who thinks cloaks and top hats are still in fashion.

Soon Alba is about to find out that, sometimes, the scariest monster isn’t the one with fangs.

A story about a lost witch recovering her self-esteem, a seemingly cheerful vampire with a tortured past, and finding love in the most unexpected of places.

Stray Witch is a story of vampires and witches... and much more. It tells the story of an atypical heroine overcoming a terrible mistake, intertwined with a slow-burn romance with lots of chemistry and quick-witted remarks. This Paranormal Romance will delight Magical Realism and Paranormal Women's Fiction readers alike.

Stray Witch is the first book in the series but can also be read as a standalone story.


BooTour on Instagram


Take a look at the posts of our tour hosts and learn more about the book!


Day 1



"Magic, love and a secret vampire nest beneath a graveyard."







Day 2

Excerpt:

“Thanks for getting him off me,” I said. “I owe you one. Actually, two.”

“You don’t really want to be indebted to a vampire,” he answered. As my eyes grew accustomed to the dimness, I managed to glimpse his mischievous smile. “We are known for a broad range of sins, and I might come to collect my debt, eventually.” @ravens_books


Day 3


Excerpt:

“They say vampires can lure women with their charms.”

“Can we?” he said in a husky voice. “Never heard of that. But rumor has it witches can brew love potions.”





Day 4


Excerpt:

“Because vampires tend to lose control when you kiss them too eagerly, and they may end up biting you by mistake.”




Day 5

Q&A with Author Eva Alton & @theenchantedshelf


Q: How did you come up with the idea of Stray Witch?

A: The story started when I wondered how old-fashioned vampires could live discreetly in our modern world. I thought this could lead to absurd and humorous situations sometimes, and I could use that hint of humour to deal with deeper social issues in a story in a lighter way. I was living abroad back then and there was a small, beautiful cemetery I would pass by often. This is where the idea of The Cloister (where the vampires in my book live) came from.


Q: The world of Stray Witch is so lush with characters and fantastical elements! What helped you during the world-building process? (Music, quotes, etc)

A: Tristan and Isolde's romance is a recurring theme throughout the series, and Alba and Clarence's love story keeps referring to it: knight Tristan and Isolde fall in love even though they should not, as she's married to King Mark. Of course, it's not a coincidence Alba's husband's name is Mark, too. I often played Isolde's Liebestod, the end of Tristan and Isolde's opera, when looking for inspiration. This piece becomes even more meaningful in the third book in the series, but I can't tell you why yet!


Q: One thing I really enjoyed while reading Stray Witch was the magic system! How were you able to come up with such a unique twist on that element of the fantasy genre?

A: I usually try to come up with things I haven't seen yet when plotting my stories. Even though I must say it happens too often that I find them somewhere else later! I suppose everything has been done already. Still, I try to do it my way, so it can still be perceived as different.


Q: What author(s)inspired your love of writing?

A: I have always been fascinated by magic and fantasy in books. When I was little I used to read The Little Vampire books by Angela Sommer-Bodenburg. I also read most high fantasy classics, such as The Lord of the Rings. Later I also read Twilight, A Discovery of Witches, Outlander... all of them wonderful books by authors I admire.


Q: I’m so excited to continue Alba’s journey! Without giving anything away, what can readers expect as the series progresses?

A: Alba is going to try to control her budding magical abilities, but I warn you, she's extremely clumsy and it's not going to be easy! We are also going to find out much more about Clarence's past and how it affected everything that's going on in the present. Perhaps more than it seems right now.



About the Author:


Eva Alton writes Paranormal Romance and Magical Realism Novels.

She's the author of The Vampires of Emberbury Series.

The first title in the series is Stray Witch and tells the story of Alba, a clueless witch, and Clarence, a quirky vampire. The book was awarded the Silver Stake Literary Award at the Vampire Arts Festival on Halloween, 2020.

Follow the Author on Website


Purchase the book on: Amazon

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page