top of page
  • Writer's picturerbn_tours

Book Tour: THEODORE, THE NEIGHBOUR'S CAT by J. S. Ellis

Updated: Nov 9, 2020

Hello bookdragons!


Raven's Bookish Network proudly presents Theodore, The Neighbour's Cat by J. S. Ellis, a mystery, thriller novel told from the POV of a cat! Book released on November 3rd 2020.


About the book:

My roommate is a serial killer.


And I have been powerless to stop him because I... am a cat.


Don’t get me wrong, Dean has never been cruel to me. He provides me with shelter, toys, and plenty of affection. But I have seen his dark side, his brutal treatment of women, and I can’t bear to watch anyone else get hurt.


Jane from next door is attractive for a human, not to mention being incredibly kind. That kindness may get her killed. I’ve seen how Dean looks at her, I know what he’s plotting. In his mind, she’s his for the taking. I wasn’t able to save the others, but I’m not ready to give up. One way or another, I have to figure out how to communicate to Jane that she’s in danger.


Can I find a way to warn her in time? Or will she become just another name on his growing list of victims?


Book Tour on Instagram


Take a look at the amazing posts provided by our hosts!


Day 1

Blurb:
"My roommate is a serial killer.
And I have been powerless to stop him because I... am a cat."

Day 2



"So excited for this books! It's mystery, thriller told from the POV of a cat!😻"






Day 3


"I like how easy I read the story and how the action flows. The action keeps me interested and the switch in POVs is a nice addition to the story."





Day 4

"The best part about this thriller is the narration of a brilliant, lovely cat! 😍 Recommending it for its fast pace and thrilling nature."

Day 5

Q&A with Author J. S. Ellis &


Q: What inspired you to write this story?

A: This story was originally a short story. The idea came to me while my finances were going through a difficult time. I wanted to write a story about a serial killer but I wanted to have a different take. Most of these stories are either written from the serial killer point of view or the victim. I

thought what can I do to make it different?

We had just adopted a kitten (Eloise) to help my fiancée relax and I was looking at her one day and I thought what if the serial killer had a pet? Can I write a thriller in a cat point of view? I wrote the short story within a week and published it to a see what readers would think and the response had been overwhelming. I was getting emails from readers asking me to turn it into a full-length novel and here it is!


Q: Out of all the characters which one was the most difficult to develop?

A: Definitely Dean. I had to do a lot of research on real-life serial killers such as Ted Bundy and Richard Ramirez before I started writing him. Although, this research got distressing at the times, it was also interesting. I think people get fascinated with serial killers. I had to think like a serial killer would think, how he views the world and humanity in general. I actually had nightmares while writing his point views. I also confess though that Dean Carter is my favourite character from all of my books.


Q: Do you have any advice for any aspiring authors?

A: Whatever you do, no matter how hard it is and writing is hard, do not give up. Self-doubt is also the enemy and I have my moments when I say to myself while editing my own writing “this sucks” but you can fix what you write. Keep on going, you got this and don’t forget to read a lot.


Q: Will your next book have a similar tone to this one or will it be something entirely

different?

A: My next book will not have a cat for sure so the tone will be different. It is a thriller so it has dark elements.


Q: In there a specific theme you discuss in the book? 

A: In “Theodore”, the themes discussed -which are in Dean’s point of view- are how the world has changed, how humanity has changed and what social media has done to people. Dean had strong opinions when it came to these subjects.




Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page